IAAER General Membership Meeting

Minutes - Meeting 01/2020

Meeting 01/2020 of the IAAER General Membership Meeting held through VC on the 17th of December 1h00 PM GMT https://swinburne.zoom.us/j/87547524716.

IAAER President CHALMERS calls the General Membership Meeting to order at 13:00 PM. CHALMERS welcomes the participants (23) and notes that the quorum is constituted.

CHALMERS presents the President's report. CHALMERS notes that despite being a disruptive year, with no conferences, IAAER has managed to adapt and managed to move things forward.

Director of Research and Educational Activities STREET discusses the IAAER current and future research activities. She invites the participants to refer to the detailed report included in the EC minutes.

CHALMERS thanks the nomination committee and presents the slate of nominees (appendix A). CHALMERS launches the voting pool. The new EC members are approved unanimously.

VP Finance GORDON presents the financial statements.

CHALMERS closes the meeting at 12:25 pm.

APPENDIX A – Slate of Nominees



INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR ACCOUNTING EDUCATION & RESEARCH

Date: November 11, 2020

To: IAAER Executive Committee, Institutional Members and Individual Members

From: Katherine Schipper, Chair Nominating Committee and past president, US Committee Members: Christopher Arnold, Advisory, US/UK; Holger Erchinger, Advisory, US/Germany; Lana Hanner, Council, South Africa; Chika Saka, Council, Japan

Subject: Nominations for IAAER Executive Committee, 2020-2022

The charge of the IAAER Nominations Committee is to prepare a single slate of candidates for election as officers, to include the nominees for the Vice-Presidents at-Large who shall be provided from representatives of the Academic Accounting Association members. The following slate has been approved by the IAAER Nominations Committee and shall be presented for approval at a general membership meeting to be held December 17, 2020. A simple majority (50% plus one) at an officially convened general membership meeting is required to elect the officers.

Nominees

President: Keryn Chalmers, Swinburne University, Australia
VP-Administration: Andrei Filip, ESSEC Business School, France
VP-Communications: Elmar Venter, University of Pretoria, South Africa
VP-Conferences: Catalin Albu, Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania
VP-Education: Elizabeth Gammie, Robert Gordon University, UK
VP-Finance: Elizabeth Gordon, Temple University, US
VP-Membership: Sebastian Hoffmann, University of Edinburgh, UK
VP-Practice: Catherine Edwards, ACCA, UK
VP-Research: Patrick Hopkins, Indiana University, US

VPs-at-large, representing Academic Accounting Associations:

African Accounting and Finance Association: Teerooven Soobaroyen, University of Essex, UK Accounting and Finance Association of Australia and New Zealand: David Bond, University of Technology, Australia

American Accounting Association, International Accounting Section: Judy Beckman, University of Rhode Island, US

Association Francophone de Comptabilite (French Accounting Association): Chrystelle Richard, ESSEC, France

MODAV: Cagnur Balsari, Dokuz Eylul University, Turkey

Southern African Accounting Association: Rikus de Villiers, North-West University, South Africa Japan Accounting Association: Akihiro Noguchi, Nagoya University, Japan

Mexican Association of Accounting and Business Faculty: Yanira Petrides, ITAM, Mexico VPs-at-large assigned special responsibilities

Ling-tai Lynnette Chou, National Chengchi University/Taiwan Accounting Association Ann Tarca, International Accounting Standards Board, UK/Australia

Per the constitution

Immediate Past President: Katherine Schipper US

Director of Research and Educational Activities: Donna Street, appointed by the Executive Committee US